Negro League Championship Series

There were two major Negro leagues in operation from 1923 through 1929 and from 1937 through 1948. The champions of these leagues met in a Negro League World Series eleven times, from 1924 - 1927 and from 1942 - 1948. Outside of the formal league structure, teams would frequently meet in series in order to stake more informal claims as the "champions of Colored baseball" and the like. The championship claims of the winners of some of these series were disputed. But there are some cases of championship series between teams - typically one Eastern and one Western team - whose winner was widely recognized as the "champion" of Negro League baseball. Thanks to Todd Peterson, we have identified two such series and have included box scores (and some play-by-play accounts) for these series.

Back to Main Page for Negro League Baseball

Page Updated: 2/15/2021

All data contained at this site is copyright © 1996-2021 by Retrosheet. All Rights Reserved.