Retrosheet


Usage of the Replay System

2012 (88 times, 33 changed, 55 upheld)

4/7 BOS @ DET
In the bottom of the fifth inning, Miguel Cabrera’s fly ball landed behind the new LF fence that was added in 2003 to shorten the distance for a home run. It hit the Tigers bullpen seating area and rebounded to the chain link fence. When it happened, it looked as if the ball got stuck in the LF fence and the Red Sox outfielders signaled as such; 2B umpire CB Bucknor ran out, looked and signaled that it was a double. Tigers manager Jim Leyland talked with Bucknor and crew chief Dale Scott. Scott watched the replay The LF camera angle showed that the ball went over the fence before coming back and getting tangled in the fencing. The call was overturned to a home run. It was Cabrera’s second homer in the contest.

04/07 NYA @ TBA
In the bottom of the seventh inning, Evan Longoria hit a fly ball to RF. A fan wearing a Rays cap and a Yankees jersey reached over the fence with his glove and caught the ball. 1B umpire Andy Fletcher ruled it a home run. The view from the infield was not conclusive but could have been a homer. Yankees RF Nick Swisher pointed at the fan immediately. Manager Joe Girardi came onto the field to talk with the umpires about the call. Crew chief Joe West watched the replay and overturned the call to a double. The camera in the RF corner clearly showed that the fan reached over the fence but that Swisher would not have been able to catch the ball, thus Longoria was not ruled out on the interference.

04/11 ARI @ SDN
In the top of the second, Willie Bloomquist's fly ball hit the top of the wall in left center and was ruled in play. Bloomquist reached third on the hit. D-Backs manager Kirk Gibson asked the umpires about the call so crew chief Jeff Kellogg watched the replay and upheld the call.

04/13 MIL @ ATL
In the top of the sixth, Cory Hart's fly hit the yellow stripe at the top of the wall in left center; it was ruled in play. Brewers manager Ron Roenicke asked about the call, so crew chief Tim Tschida watched the replay and upheld the call.

04/15 TBA @ BOS
In the top of the fifth inning, Carlos Pena hit the first pitch down the RF line. It was ruled a foul ball as it passed the so-called 'Pesky Pole.' The Rays asked about the call, so crew chief Brian Gorman watched the replay and upheld the call. Pena hit a two-run double later in the at bat.

04/18 CLE @ SEA
In the top of the third, Aaron Cunningham's fly ball hit the top of the wall and rebounded onto the field. It was ruled in play. Indians manager Manny Acta asked about the call so crew chief Dale Scott watched the replay and upheld the call.

04/20 NYA @ BOS
In the bottom of the second on the 100th anniversary of Fenway Park, the fly ball by David Ortiz hit on the ledge at the top of the wall in left center and rebounded back onto the field. Tt was ruled in play but when the Red Sox asked about the call, crew chief Tim Tschida watched the replay and overturned the call to a home run.

04/23 PHI @ ARI
In the bottom of the first, Aaron Hill's fly hit the yellow stripe on the '330' indicator, well below the top of the wall. It made a clanking sound as if it hit the screen above the wall. The ball was ruled a home run by 3B umpire Angel Hernandez. The Phillies started to ask about the call but the umpires huddled and crew chief Ed Rapuano watched the replay and overturned the call to in play. Each runner was advanced two bases.

05/02 PIT @ SLN
In the bottom of the third inning, the fly ball by Carlos Beltran to left center was just over the top of the wall. It hit a fan's hands and rebounded onto the field and was ruled in play. Cardinals manager Mike Matheny talked with the umpires. Crew chief Dale Scott watched the replay and overturned the call to a home run. It was the second three-run homer for Beltran in the contest.

05/04 CIN @ PIT
In the top of the fourth, the fly ball by Chris Heisey hit the top of the wall and rebounded back onto the field. Crew chief Derryl Cousins watched the replay and upheld the call.

05/04 TEX @ CLE
In the bottom of the third, Jack Hannahan's fly ball hit just above the high wall a few feet inside the RF pole. It was ruled in play and Hannahan raced for a triple when the ball rebounded past RF Nelson Cruz. Indians manager Manny Acta asked about the call so crew chief Dale Scott watched the replay and overturned the call to a home run.

05/05 ATL @ COL
In the top of the seventh, Jason Heyward hit a fly down the line that was ruled foul. When the Braves asked about the call, crew chief Tim McClelland watched the replay and upheld the call.

05/05 SLN @ HOU
In the bottom of the eighth, Jed Lowrie's fly to LF hit the railing above the yellow stripe at the top of the wall and caromed back almost to the infield. Lowrie stopped at 2B. When the Astros asked about the call, acting crew chief Jerry Meals watched the replay and overturned the call to a home run.

05/06 CIN @ PIT
In the top of the third, Drew Stubbs fly to right center just cleared the wall. Pirates manager Clint Hurdle talked to the umpires about the call. Crew chief Derryl Cousins watched the replay and upheld the call.

05/09 COL @ SDN
In the top of the fourth inning, Jason Giambi's fly hit the top of the wall and rebounded onto the field. It was ruled in play. Crew chief Tom Hallion watched the replay and upheld the call.

05/09 COL @ SDN
In the top of the sixth inning, Wilin Rosario’s fly hit the top of the wall and rebounded onto the field. It was ruled in play. Crew chief Tom Hallion watched the replay and upheld the call. This was the second use of replay in the game.

05/09 WAS @ PIT
In the top of the fourth, Ian Desmond's fly was just over the short wall in LF. Yamaico Navarro reached over the top and caught the ball, thus bringing a homer back. A fan reached and pulled at Navarro and his glove. The play was ruled an out but 2B umpire Greg Gibson went in to talk with crew chief Gerry Davis. Davis watched the replay and upheld the ruling, confirming no fan interference.

05/12 SEA @ NYA
In the top of the ninth inning, Mike Carp's fly to RF hit the top of the wall and rebounded back onto the field past Nick Swisher. It was ruled a home run by 1B umpire Scott Barry. The umpires huddled and crew chief Gary Darling watched the replay and overturned the call to in play. Carp was awarded a double and baserunner Kyle Seager allowed to score from 1B. Carp had homered in the seventh inning. Yankees manager Joe Girardi argued the ruling to allow Seager to score.

05/12 TOR @ MIN
In the top of the sixth, Jose Bautista's line drive just cleared the LF fence and hit the concrete wall behind the flowers. The ball rebounded back onto the field and was ruled in play. Bautista stopped at 2B but the Blue Jays were all yelling that the ball cleared the fence. Crew chief Tim Tschida watched the replay and overturned the call to a home run.

05/14 SDN @ WAS
In the bottom of the sixth inning, Ian Desmond's fly ball hit the green strip at the top of the RF out-of-town scoreboard and caromed onto the field. It was ruled in play. Nationals manager Davey Johnson asked about the call, so the umpires huddled and then crew chief Brian Gorman watched the replay and upheld the call.

05/15 SEA @ BOS
In the top of the second, Justin Smoak hit a high fly ball down the RF line on the first pitch. It was ruled foul but Mariners manager Eric Wedge talked to 1B umpire Eric Cooper. Crew chief Jeff Kellogg watched the replay and upheld the call.

05/16 MIN @ DET
In the top of the third, Josh Willingham's fly to RF hit the yellow line at the top of the wall. It was ruled in play but Twins manager Ron Gardenhire asked about the call. Crew chief Jeff Kellogg watched the replay and upheld the call.

05/21 TOR @ TBA
In the bottom of the first inning, B.J. Upton's high fly hit a catwalk at Tropicana Field. The ball dropped in the outfield about 30 feet in front of CF Colby Rasmus, who was near the warning track. Upton reached 2B on the play and talked to the umpires saying that the ball hit one of the catwalks that the ground rules designate as a home run. Rays manager Joe Maddon talked with crew chief Joe West, who watched the replay and overturned the call to a home run.

05/24 MIN @ CHA
In the bottom of the fifth, Alejandro de Aza hit the 3-1 pitch down the RF line. The ball was ruled fair and a home run by 1B umpire Doug Eddings but Twins manager Ron Gardenhire ran out to ask about the ruling. The umpires huddled and crew chief Dana DeMuth watched the replay and overturned the call to a foul ball.

5/25 PHI @ SLN
In the bottom of the third inning, Rafael Furcal's fly hit an advertising sign behind the LF fence and was ruled a home run by 3B umpire Rob Drake. The Phillies asked about the call so crew chief Joe West watched the replay and upheld the call.

05/29 DET @ BOS
In the top of the eighth inning, Alex Avila's fly ball hit on the CF wall near the vertical yellow stripe and was ruled in play. It hit just below the stripe at the very top of the wall where it joins the LF Green Monster and therefore not a home run. Crew chief Tim Tschida watched the replay and upheld the call.

05/29 KCA @ CLE
In the top of the second inning, Mike Moustakas hit a fly ball down the RF line that was ruled foul by 1B umpire Dan Bellino. Royals manager Ned Yost asked about the call so crew chief Jerry Layne watched the replay and upheld the call. Moustakas had homered in the first inning.

05/30 HOU @ COL
In the bottom of the first inning, Michael Cuddyer's fly ball to RF cleared the yellow stripe at the top of the out of town scoreboard and was caught by a fan reaching over the railing. It was ruled a home run but Astros manager Brad Mills asked about whether it was fan interference. Crew chief Jeff Kellogg watched the replay and upheld the call. This was a grand slam.

06/02 CIN @ HOU
In the bottom of the third, Fernando Martinez's fly ball hit the top of the padded wall in front of the Crawford Boxes in LF. It was ruled in play but Astros manager Brad Mills asked about the call so acting crew chief Jim Joyce watched the replay and upheld the call.

06/02 MIA @ PHI
In the top of the fourth inning, Hanley Ramirez's fly ball was caught by a fan just over the vertical yellow stripe in left center. It was ruled a home run but the Phillies thought the fan reached over and touched a ball in play. Crew chief Dana DeMuth watched the replay and upheld the call.

06/05 BAL @ BOS
In the bottom of the ninth inning, Jarrod Saltalamacchia's fly hit just over the red line at the top of the LF wall and caromed back onto the field. It was ruled a home run but Orioles manager Buck Showalter asked about the call so crew chief Jerry Layne watched the replay and upheld the call.

06/07 ATL @ MIA
In the bottom of the eighth inning, Giancarlo Stanton hit the ball down the RF line. It hit just over the top of the wall and caromed back onto the field. It was ruled in play and Stanton reached 2B. Crew chief Gary Cederstrom watched the replay and overturned the call to a home run.

06/10 HOU @ CHA
In the top of the fifth, Justin Maxwell's fly ball down the LF line was ruled fair. White Sox manager Robin Ventura asked about the call, so acting crew chief Mike Everitt watched the replay and upheld the call.

06/10 OAK @ ARI
In the bottom of the eighth, Aaron Hill hit a fly ball down the LF line that he thought was a home run but was ruled a foul ball. Crew chief Tim McClelland watched the replay and upheld the call.

06/16 MIL @ MIN
In the bottom of the ninth inning, Darin Mastroianni's fly down the LF line was ruled foul by 3B umpire Brian Gorman. After the Twins asked about the call, Brian Gorman, the crew chief, watched the replay and upheld the call.

06/18 TOR @ MIL
In the bottom of the seventh inning, the fly ball by Aramis Ramirez hit the edge of the pad on the LF wall. The play was ruled a foul ball by 3B umpire Paul Nauert. Brewers manager Ron Roenicke asked about the call, so acting crew chief Kerwin Danley watched the replay and overturned the call to a home run. The ball glanced off the edge of the pad, which was not aligned straight up the foul line. That ball might have been foul except for the incorrect alignment of the pad. The run from this solo homer was the decisive run in the Brewers’ victory.

06/19 TBA @ WAS
In the bottom of the sixth, Michael Morse's fly was touched by a fan on top of the out-of-town scoreboard. The ball caromed off the railing above and behind the scoreboard and bounced back onto the field. It was ruled a home run by 1B umpire Jeff Nelson, who immediately walked into the center of the infield. The umpires huddled and then crew chief Tim Tschida watched the replay and upheld the call.

06/19 TEX @ SDN
In the top of the seventh, Adrian Beltre's fly ball hit the RF pole and was ruled a homer. The umpires huddled and crew chief Mike Winters watched the replay and upheld the call.

06/26 CHA @ MIN
In the bottom of the third, Denard Span hit the 3-2 pitch down the RF line and the ball was ruled foul by 1B umpire Paul Schreiber. Twins manager Ron Gardenhire asked about the call, so crew chief Tim Welke watched the replay and upheld the call.

06/26 SDN @ HOU
In the top of the third inning, Will Venable's fly ball hit the railing above and behind the yellow stripe and caromed back onto the field. It was ruled in play and Venable reached 3B. Padres manager Bud Black asked about the call and crew chief Derryl Cousins watched the replay and overturned the call to a home run.

06/27 CHA @ MIN
In the top of the seventh, A.J. Pierzynski's fly hit the top of the wall and caromed back onto the field. Denard Span hit the wall hard and the ball was retrieved by RF Ben Revere. The ball was ruled in play but the White Sox asked about the call so crew chief Tim Welke watched the replay and upheld the call.

06/27 SLN @ MIA
In the bottom of the seventh, Logan Morrison's fly down the RF line hit the top of the padding, bounced up and hit the railing behind the wall. The silver railing is a home run. The ball caromed back onto the field and was ruled in play. Morrison, in his home run trot, reached second base. Crew chief Jerry Layne watched the replay and overturned the call to a home run.

06/28 PIT @ PHI
In the top of the eighth inning, Garrett Jones' fly hit the top of the metal fence above the out of town scoreboard and caromed back onto the field. The ball was ruled in play. Pirates manager Clint Hurdle asked about the call so the umpire huddled and then crew chief Tim McClelland watched the replay and upheld the call.

07/05 MIN @ DET
In the bottom of the eighth inning, Delmon Young's fly ball to right center hit the concrete and the metal raining behind the yellow line at the top of the padded wall. The ball was ruled in play and Young reached 2B. Tigers manager Jim Leyland talked with the umpires, who huddled briefly. Crew chief Dana DeMuth watched the replay and overturned the call to a home run.

07/16 CLE @ TBA
The first batter of the game, Shin-Soo Choo, hit a fly to CF struck the yellow stripe at the top of the padded fence and caromed onto the field. it was ruled a home run by 2B umpire Dan Iassogna. When Rays manager Joe Maddon asked about the ruling, crew chief Dale Scott watched the replay and overturned the call to a ball in play and a double.

07/17/ NYN @ WAS
In the top of the ninth inning, pinch hitter Jordany Valdespin's fly ball to right center was touched by a fan above the out of town scoreboard and was ruled a homer. The ball caromed back onto the field and was relayed into HP. Nationals manager Davey Johnson asked about the call, so acting crew chief Angel Hernandez watched the replay and upheld the call.

07/20/2012 ATL @ WAS
In the top of the sixth inning, pinch hitter Eric Hinske's fly ball hit the top of the padded wall and caromed back onto the field. It was ruled in play but the Braves asked about the call. Crew chief Tom Hallion watched the replay and upheld the call.

07/22 CHA @ DET
In the top of the sixth inning, the fly ball by Alex Rios appeared to hit the top of the padding and carom back onto the field. It was ruled in play but when the White Sox asked about the call, crew chief Derryl Cousins watched the replay and overturned the call to a home run. The ball actually hit the roof on the bullpen dugout behind the fence.

07/23 BOS @ TEX
In the top of the seventh inning, Jarrod Saltalamacchia's fly to CF bounced off the top of the padded wall and caromed back onto the field. When it was ruled in play, the Red Sox asked about the call so crew chief Tim Tschida watched the replay and upheld the call.

07/23 MIL @ PHI
In the bottom of the first, Ryan Howard's fly ball landed in the flower bed in LF and caromed back onto the field. The ball was ruled in play but Phillies manager Charlie Manuel asked about the call. Crew chief Tom Hallion watched the replay and overturned the call to a home run.

07/24 COL @ ARI
In the bottom of the fourth, Willie Bloomquist's fly ball was caught in left-center by a fan with a glove who reached over the wall and down. The ball would have struck the wall below the yellow stripe at the top of the padding. It was ruled fan interference and a double but D-Backs manager Kirk Gibson asked about the call. Crew chief Mike Winters watched the replay and upheld the call.

07/25 CHN @ PIT
In the top of the third inning, the fly ball by David DeJesus was touched by a fan and landed in the seats. It was ruled fan interference and a double by 2B umpire and crew chief Joe West but the Cubs asked about the call. West watched the replay and upheld the call.

07/27/2012 OAK @ BAL
In the top of the fifth, Josh Reddick's fly ball hit the top of the wall in CF and caromed back onto the field. It was ruled in play but Athletics manager Bob Melvin asked about the ruling so crew chief Tim McClelland watched the replay and upheld the call.

07/27/2012 PIT @ HOU
In the bottom of the fourth, Ben Francisco's line drive was touched by a fan as it cleared the fence and was called a home run. Pirates manager Clint Hurdle asked about the ruling so crew chief Derryl Cousins watched the replay and upheld the call.

08/01 CLE @ KCA
In the top of the fourth, Carlos Santana's fly ball hit just behind the top of the padding in RF and caromed back onto the field. It was ruled a home run but Royals manager Ned Yost asked about the call. Crew chief Tim Welke watched the replay and upheld the call.

08/01 SLN @ COL
In the top of the second inning, Tyler Greene hit a fly to deep LF. Carlos Gonzalez leaped and caught the ball over the top of the LF wall but could not hold onto it. The ball came out of his glove and landed on the field, and Greene reached second for a double. A fan attempted to catch the ball behind Gonzalez but did not touch the ball or interfere with the play. Cardinals manager Mike Matheny asked about possible fan interference so crew chief Dana DeMuth watched the replay and upheld the call.

08/04 MIL @ SLN
In the bottom of the second inning, Carlos Beltran's line drive hit the corner of the wall at the end of the bullpen in right center. The ball caromed back towards the infield and was retrieved by Nyjer Morgan. The ball was ruled in play and Beltran slid into 3B ahead of the throw. The umpires huddled and crew chief Tim Welke watched the replay and overturned the call to a home run.

08/04 PIT @ CIN
In the top of the third, Alex Presley's fly ball hit the yellow line at the top of the wall and caromed back onto the field. RF Jay Bruce attempted a leaping catch but missed the ball, which was ruled in play. The umpires huddled and then crew chief Brian Gorman watched the replay and upheld the call.

08/07 TEX @ BOS
In the bottom of the seventh inning, pinch hitter Will Middlebrooks hit a fly ball to the first row of Monster seats in left field. A few fans leaned over the tabletop in front of them and one caught the ball while extended out. The ball was ruled a home run but the Rangers thought it was fan interference. Crew chief Dana DeMuth watched the replay and upheld the call.

08/07 ANA @ OAK
In the bottom of the sixth inning, the fly ball by Derek Norris hit the concrete facing of the stands, bounced off the top of the wall above the yellow stripe and caromed of an advertisement onto the field. It was ruled in play; the umpires huddled then crew chief Dale Scott watched the replay and overturned the call to a home run.

08/08 TEX @ BOS
In the top of the ninth, Nelson Cruz hit the 2-1 pitch down the LF. The ball was above the top of the pole and called foul by 3B umpire Lance Barrett. When the Rangers asked about the call, crew chief Dana DeMuth watched the replay and upheld the call.

08/09 MIA @ NYN
In the bottom of the eighth, Andres Torres' fly ball hit the top of the orange stripe on the RF wall. The ball was ruled in play but the Mets asked about the call so crew chief Gary Darling watched the replay and upheld the call.

08/09 TOR @ TBA
In the bottom of the eighth, Evan Longoria's fly ball hit the top of the padded wall in left center and was ruled in play. When the Rays asked about the call, crew chief Gary Cederstrom watched the replay and upheld the call.

08/12 KCA @ BAL
In the bottom of the second, Manny Machado's fly hit the top of the wall and caromed off the back wall onto the field. The back wall is behind the barrier and a homer. The ball was ruled in play by 1B umpire and crew chief Tim Tschida. The umpires huddled immediately. Tschida watched the replay and overturned the call to a home run.

08/12 SDN @ PIT
In the bottom of the seventh, Neil Walker's fly ball was caught by a fan over the scoreboard in right center. It was ruled a homer but the Padres asked about the call thinking that perhaps the fan reached over the top of the wall. Crew chief Mike Winters watched the replay and upheld the call.

08/15 WAS @ SFN
In the top of the fifth, Michael Morse's fly ball hit the concrete at the top of the wall in right center where the wall juts out. It was ruled in play but the Nationals asked about the call so crew chief Jerry Layne watched the replay and upheld the call.

08/16 OAK @ KCA
In the top of the sixth, Coco Crisp's fly hit behind the green wall and caromed back onto the field. It was ruled in play but the Athletics asked about the call. Crew chief Dana DeMuth watched the replay and overturned the call to a home run.

08/16 TBA @ ANA
In the top of the second, Ben Zobrist's fly ball was touched by a fan over the wall and the ball caromed back onto the field. It was ruled a home run but the Angels asked about the call. Crew chief Derryl Cousins watched the replay and upheld the call.

08/16 TEX @ NYA
In the bottom of the sixth, Andruw Jones' fly down the LF line hit the facing of the upper deck a few feet fair. The Rangers thought it was foul so crew chief Jeff Kellogg watched the replay and upheld the call.

08/19 ARI @ HOU
In the bottom of the fourth inning, Fernando Martinez' fly ball struck the left center wall just to the left of the vertical yellow stripe, which is in play. The ball was ruled a home run but crew chief Dana DeMuth watched the replay and overturned the call to in play and placed Martinez at 2B.

08/24 HOU @ NYN
In the bottom of the fourth, David Wright's fly ball struck the base of the RF pole and was ruled a home run. Astros manager Tony DeFrancesca asked about the call so crew chief Tom Hallion watched the replay and upheld the call. It was Wright's 200th career homer.

08/25 TOR @ BAL
In the bottom of the fifth, J.J. Hardy's fly ball hit the yellow vertical stripe on the RF wall. Each runner advanced two bases but 1B umpire CB Bucknor seemed to signal home run. Everyone acted as if it was ruled in play. The umpires huddled and crew chief Dale Scott watched the replay and upheld the call of ball in play.

08/26 WAS @ PHI
In the top of the seventh, Adam LaRoche's fly hit the top of the metal railing above the scoreboard in RF and caromed back onto the field. LaRoche assumed it was a homer even though it was ruled in play by the umpires. Jayson Werth stopped at 3B but LaRoche continued his home run trot past 2B. He finally stopped half way to 3B and was caught in a rundown. The Nationals asked about the ruling so crew chief Gerry Davis watched the replay and upheld the call of ball in play

08/27 CIN @ ARI
In the top of the sixth inning, Bronson Arroyo's fly ball hit the green railing behind the wall and caromed back onto the field. It hit at the point where the wall juts out toward the LF pole. Crew chief Derryl Cousins watched the replay and overturned the call to a home run.

08/28 DET @ KCA
In the top of the ninth inning, Delmon Young's fly ball on the first pitch of his at bat went just to the right of the RF pole and was ruled a foul ball. Acting crew chief Ted Barrett watched the replay and upheld the call. Young made an out on the next pitch to end the game.

08/30 CHA @ BAL
In the bottom of the third, Mark Reynolds fly hit the top of the wall in LF and caromed back onto the field. The ball appeared to be touched by a fan reaching over the fence. The ball was ruled in play but the Orioles asked about the call. Crew chief Tim McClelland watched the replay and upheld the call. Even though the fan touched the ball in the playing area, there was no fielder close enough to make a play on the ball. Reynolds would have been awarded a double, which is where he reached.

08/31 SFN @ CHN
In the bottom of the fifth, Anthony Rizzo's fly ball hit the green at the top of the brick wall and caromed back onto the field The ball was ruled in play and Rizzo reached 3B. Crew chief Dale Scott watched the replay and overturned the call to a home run.

09/01 CHA @ DET
In the bottom of the fifth, Delmon Young's fly ball hit the yellow stripe at the top of the CF wall a few feet to the left of the vertical stripe. The ball caromed towards RF and Young reached 3B. The ball was ruled in play but the Tigers asked about the call. Crew chief Gary Cederstrom watched the replay and upheld the call.

09/06 CHN @ WAS
In the bottom of the sixth inning, Adam LaRoche's fly ball was over the out-of-town scoreboard in RF. The ball was touched by a fan who reached over the metal railing, struck another fan and caromed back onto the field. The ball was ruled a home run but the Cubs claimed it was fan interference on a ball in play. Crew chief Jerry Layne watched the replay and upheld the call.

09/11 CLE @ TEX
In the bottom of the fifth, Adrian Beltre's fly hit the top of the wall in LF, bounced off the railing above it and caromed onto the field. It was ruled in play but the Rangers asked about the call. Acting crew chief Angel Hernandez watched the replay and overturned the call to a home run.

09/14 SEA @ TEX
In the bottom of the first inning, Ian Kinsler's fly ball hit the top of the wall in front of the visitor's bullpen. The ball went over the wall and caromed off a chair back onto the field. It was ruled in play and Kinsler stopped at 2B. Crew chief Tim Welke watched the replay and overturned the call to a home run.

09/17 PHI @ NYN
In the top of the fifth inning, Jimmy Rollins' fly ball hit the roof of the Mets bullpen in RF behind Scott Hairston's outstretched glove. The ball caromed back onto the field and Rollins stopped at 3B. The umpires huddled then crew chief Brian Gorman watched the replay and overturned the call to a home run.

09/22 MIA @ NYN
In the bottom of the fourth, Scott Hairston's fly ball hit just above the orange stripe on the CF wall to the right of the 408 marker. The ball was ruled in play. Crew chief Tim Welke watched the replay and reversed the call to a home run.

In the top of the ninth, John Buck's fly ball hit the LF pole but was ruled foul. Crew chief Tim Welke watched the replay and overturned the call to a home run. This was the second overturned call in this game.

09/25 SEA @ ANA
In the top of the fourth, Justin Smoak's fly ball hit the padding on top of the scoreboard in RF and caromed back onto the field. It was ruled a home run. Crew chief Gary Cederstrom watched the replay and upheld the call.

09/29 WAS @ SLN
In the top of the first inning, Michael Morse's fly hit just a sign just above the RF fence and caromed back onto the field. The ball was ruled in play. Bryce Harper scored from 3B, Ryan Zimmerman ran from 2B and stopped at 3B. Adam LaRoche, running from 1B, rounded 2B and realized that Zimmerman had stopped, so LaRoche headed back to 2B. Morse was almost to 2B and had to run back to 1B but was tagged out by Skip Schumaker, who had caught the throw from Carlos Beltran in RF. 1B umpire Chris Guccione, who had ruled the ball in play, spoke briefly with acting crew chief Jeff Nelson, who had called Morse out. Nelson watched the replay and overturned the call to a home run. Since there had been some confusion on the bases, including a putout, Nelson sent all runners back to their original places and had them run the bases. Morse ran the bases backwards, retouching 2B and 1B on his way back to HP. When he returned to HP, he heard his teammates in the dugout yelling for him to swing an imaginary bat. Catcher Yadier Molina repeated that, so Morse took a swing and all four runners scored on the recreated home run. Nationals TV play-by-play announcer Bob Carpenter called the 'homer' with his signature 'See-You-Later!' as Morse's imaginary ball cleared the wall. [The four and a half minute video on mlb.com is well worth watching to see this unique play unfold.]

10/03 SDN @ MIL
In the top of the fifth, Chase Headley's fly ball down the RF line was ruled a home run. Brewers manager Ron Roenicke asked about the call so acting crew chief Jim Joyce watched the replay and overturned the call to a foul ball.

10/12 BAL @ NYA (League Division Series)
In the top of the sixth, Nate McLouth's fly ball down the RF line was called a foul ball after it sailed by the pole. The ball was very close to the pole but did not seem to change direction, which would indicate that the ball struck the pole. Orioles manager Buck Showalter asked about the call. Crew chief Brian Gorman watched the replay and upheld the call.


Page Updated: 4/1/2013
All data contained at this site is copyright © 1996-2013