Retrosheet


Usage of the Replay System

2013 (97 times, 34 changed, 63 upheld)

03/31 TEX @ HOU
In the bottom of the fourth, Justin Maxwell hit a high fly to left field. The ball struck near the top of the wall above the scoreboard in front of the Crawford boxes. David Murphy lost track of the ball and it was retrieved by Leonys Martin but Maxwell had a two-run triple. Acting crew chief Sam Holbrook watched the replay and upheld the call of in play.

04/04 ANA @ CIN
In the bottom of the fourth inning, Todd Frazier's fly ball to LF struck the yellow stripe at the top of the padding and rebounded onto the field. Frazier reached 3B on a fielding error after the ball rebounded but thought he had a home run. Reds manager Dusty Baker talked to the umpires. Crew chief Dale Scott watched the replay and upheld the call.

04/05 WAS @ CIN
In the bottom of the sixth inning. Shin-Soo Chooís fly ball barely cleared the CF wall into the seats. It was ruled a home run but the Nationals asked about the call so crew chief Tim McClelland watched the replay and upheld the call.

04/07 KCA @ PHI
In the top of the fifth inning of this interleague game, Billy Butler hit a ball that struck behind the barrier fence and caromed off the concrete back onto the field. It was ruled in play and Butler reached 2B. Royals manager Ned Yost talked with crew chief Jeff Kellogg about the play. Kellogg watched the replay and overturned the call to a grand slam home run.

04/10 HOU @ SEA
In the bottom of the fifth, Kelly Shoppach's fly ball struck the yellow stripe at the top of the padding and caromed back onto the field. It was ruled in play but Mariners manager Eric Wedge asked about the call so acting crew chief Wally Bell watched the replay and upheld the call.

04/12 ATL @ WAS
In the top of the sixth, Justin Upton's fly ball landed on top of the out-of-town scoreboard in RF and caromed back onto the field. It was ruled in play by 2B umpire Bill Welke who immediately called the umpires into a huddle. Crew chief Fieldin Culbreth watched the replay and upheld the call.

04/13 LAN @ ARI
In the bottom of the fourth inning, Paul Goldschmidt's fly hit the CF batter's eye wall just below the yellow stripe and was ruled in play. D-backs manager Kirk Gibson asked about the call so crew chief John Hirschbeck watched the replay and upheld the call.

04/15 CIN @ PIT
In the bottom of the seventh, Travis Sniderís fly ball hit near the top of the RF wall and was ruled in play. The ball might have been touched by a fan, so crew chief Jerry Layne watched the replay and upheld the call.

04/17 TBA @ BAL
In the bottom of the third, Adam Jones fly ball hit the rail behind the padded wall in the Orioles bullpen and caromed back onto the field. It was ruled in play, but crew chief Gerry Davis watched the replay and overturned the call to a home run.

04/17 PHI @ CIN
In the bottom of the first, Zack Cozartís fly ball hit the yellow stripe at the top of the padding just a few feet fair in left field. It was ruled in play. Cozart was obstructed by Phillies 1B Ryan Howard as Cozart rounded 1B but that did not change the play as Cozart reached 2B safely. Reds manager Dusty Baker talked with crew chief Jim Joyce, who watched the replay and upheld the call.

04/21 CLE @ HOU
In the top of the seventh inning, Mark Reynolds' fly ball hit the wall in left center a few feet above the yellow stripe and was ruled a home run. Crew chief Ted Barrett watched the replay and upheld the call.

04/24 LAN @ NYN
In the top of the sixth, Matt Kemp's fly cleared the RF wall about 5 feet fair. A security guard was sitting there who tried to catch the ball but it caromed off his hands back onto the field. The ball was ruled in play but the umpires huddled and crew chief Mike Winters watched the replay and overturned the call to a home run.

04/26 TBA @ CHA
In the top of the ninth inning, Jose Molina's fly hit the yellow stripe at the top of the padding in CF. The ball caromed back onto the field and was ruled in play. After Rays manager Joe Maddon talked to crew chief Tom Hallion, Hallion watched the replay and upheld the call.

04/28 CLE @ KCA
In the top of the second, Carlos Santana's fly ball caromed off the top of the padded wall onto the field and was ruled in play. Acting crew chief Paul Emmel watched the replay and upheld the call.

04/28 PIT @ SLN
In the top of the seventh inning, Garrett Jones' fly ball struck the advertising sign above and behind the RF wall and caromed back onto the field. The ball was ruled in play and Jones reached 3B. Crew chief Mike Winters watched the replay and overturned the call to a home run.

04/29 ANA @ OAK
In the bottom of the tenth, Chris Young's fly ball might have struck a sign above the fence in LF and caromed down onto the field. The ball was ruled in play but Athletics manager Bob Melvin asked about the call. Crew chief Gary Cederstrom watched the replay and upheld the call.

04/30 PIT @ MIL
In the top of the sixth, Starling Marte's fly ball went over the fence and caromed back onto the field. The view of the ball was blocked by the glove of CF Carlos Gomez and was ruled in play. Two runs scored and Marte reached 2B. The umpires huddled, crew chief Tim Welke watched the replay and overturned the call to a home run.

04/30 SDN @ CHN
In the bottom of the seventh inning, David DeJesus' fly ball struck the video board on the RF wall above the catch screen. The ball was ruled in play but crew chief Gerry Davis watched the replay and overturned the call to a home run.

05/01 ANA @ OAK
In the top of the sixth, Mark Trumbo's fly ball struck just above the yellow stripe on the top of the out-of-town scoreboard. It was ruled in play but the umpires huddled briefly. Crew chief Gary Cederstrom watched the replay and overturned the call to a home run.

05/03 DET @ HOU
In the top of the fourth inning, Victor Martinez' fly ball struck the yellow line at the top of the padded wall in RF and caromed back onto the field. It was ruled in play but the Tigers asked about the call. Crew chief Tim Welke watched the replay and upheld the call.

05/03 BAL @ ANA
In the bottom of the third, Erick Aybar's fly ball struck near the top of the short wall in RF and was ruled in play. Acting crew chief Wally Bell watched the replay and upheld the call.

05/03 OAK @ NYA
In the top of the sixth, Josh Donaldson's fly ball hit near the top of the wall in RF and was ruled in play. It appeared that a fan might have touched the ball so acting crew chief Jerry Meals watched the replay and upheld the call.

05/05 MIA @ PHI
In the top of the first, Marcell Ozuna's fly ball struck the top of the padded wall, caromed off the fence immediately behind and back onto the field. It was ruled in play. Crew chief Jeff Kellogg watched the replay and upheld the call. There are two metal fences at that spot in the park. The inner one is in play.

05/05 MIA @ PHI
In the top of the third, Adeiny Hechavarria's fly ball struck the metal fence above the RF wall. One umpire ruled in play and another ruled a home run. The ball caromed back onto the field and was thrown into the infield. Hechavarria stopped at 2B. Crew chief Jeff Kellogg watched the replay and overturned the call to a home run. This was a grand slam.

05/06 CHA @ KCA
In the top of the seventh, Alexei Ramirez hit a fly ball down the LF line on the fourth pitch that was ruled foul. White Sox manager Robin Ventura asked about the call so crew chief Gary Cederstom watched the replay and upheld the call. He said they did not have the proper angle to see whether the ball was fair or foul.

05/06 TOR @ TBA
In the bottom of the third inning, Kelly Johnson hit a high fly to CF that fell behind Colby Rasmus. Desmond Jennings held near 1B to see if the ball would be caught. The ball was ruled in play but Rays manager Joe Maddon asked about the call. Crew chief Tim Welke watched the replay and upheld the call.

05/08 OAK @ CLE
In the top of the ninth inning, Adam Rosales hit a fly that seemed to strike the metal fence above and behind the yellow stripe at the top of the padded wall in left center. The ball was ruled in play but Athletics manager Bob Melvin asked about the call. Acting crew chief Angel Hernandez watched the replay and upheld the call. Melvin argued after the ruling and was ejected by Hernandez. The next day, a statement was released by the commissioner's office that the ruling was "improper" but that it would stand because the decision to reverse a call by use of instant replay is at the sole discretion of the crew chief.

05/08 ATL @ CIN
In the top of the fourth, Evan Gattis hit a fly down the LF line that was ruled a foul ball. Braves manager Fredi Gonzalez asked about the ruling so crew chief Gary Cederstrom watched the replay and upheld the call.

05/10 MIA @ LAN
In the top of the seventh, Chris Coghlan's fly ball hit the top of the padded wall and caromed back onto the field. It was ruled in play. Crew chief Tom Hallion watched the replay and upheld the call.

05/10 PIT @ NYN
In the top of the fifth, Garrett Jones hit a fly ball down the RF line. The ball struck the black concrete inches above the orange stripe at the top of the padded wall. It was ruled in play and Jones reached 3B on the play. Crew chief Joe West watched the replay and overturned the call to a home run.

05/12 ATL @ SFN
In the bottom of the sixth, Marco Scutaro's fly ball to LF was touched by a fan. It was ruled fan interference and a double but the Braves said Justin Upton would have caught the ball. Acting crew chief Wally Bell watched the replay and upheld the call.

05/12 TEX @ HOU
In the top of the fifth inning, Adrian Beltre's fly ball struck the concrete arch above the yellow stripe in LF. It was ruled in play but crew chief Jeff Kellogg watched the replay and overturned the call to a homer.

05/18 TBA @ BAL
In the top of the third inning, Jose Molina's fly ball struck the top of the padded wall behind Adam Jones' outstretched arm. The ball caromed back onto the field and was ruled in play. Rays manager Joe Maddon asked about the ruling so crew chief Gerry Davis watched the replay and upheld the call.

05/19 TBA @ BAL
In the top of the sixth inning, Matt Joyce hit a fly ball down the RF line which was ruled fair and in play with Joyce reaching 2B. Orioles manager Buck Showalter talked to the umpires claiming it was a foul ball. The umpires huddled and Rays manager Joe Maddon came onto the field. Crew chief Gerry Davis watched the replay and overturned the call to a home run.The ball had actually struck the RF pole on the lowest part, which is painted black.

05/22 ARI @ COL
In the bottom of the sixth inning, Dexter Fowler hit a fly ball down the RF line on the first pitch of the inning. The ball struck inches to the foul side of the white vertical stripe on the padded wall and was ruled a foul ball. Rockies manager Walt Weiss talked to the umpires, who huddled. Crew chief Dana DeMuth watched the replay and upheld the call.

05/22 SLN @ SDN
In the top of the first inning, Matt Holliday's fly ball struck the fence below the yellow stripe in the RF corner. The ball was ruled in play. Cardinals manager Mike Matheny asked 1B umpire Cory Blaser about the call and the umpires huddled. Crew chief Jim Joyce watched the replay and upheld the call.

05/25 MIN @ DET
In the top of the first inning, Joe Mauer's fly ball struck on top of the RF wall and caromed off the metal railing back onto the field. The ball was ruled a home run but the Tigers asked about the call. Crew chief Joe West watched the replay and upheld the call.

05/27 MIN @ MIL
In the top of the seventh inning, Joe Mauer's fly ball to LF hit the top of the padded wall and caromed off the back wall onto the field. It was ruled in play but Twins manager Ron Gardenhire asked about the call so crew chief Dana DeMuth watched the replay and overturned the call to a home run.

05/31 KCA @ TEX
In the bottom of the sixth inning, A.J. Pierzynski's fly ball struck the top of the padded wall in CF and caromed back onto the field. It was ruled in play but the Rangers asked about the call so crew chief Dale Scott watched the replay and upheld the call.

06/02 MIL @ PHI
In the top of the eighth inning, Jonathan Lucroy's fly ball hit the railing atop the padded wall a few feet inside the LF pole and caromed back onto the field. The ball was ruled fair and a home run (with the bases loaded.) The Phillies asked about the call so crew chief Tom Hallion watched the replay and overturned the call to a ball in play. The umpires took some time to decide where to place the runners. Lucroy was awarded a triple.

06/02 WAS @ ATL
In the bottom of the sixth, Freddie Freeman's fly ball struck the yellow stripe on the top of the padded wall and caromed back onto the field. It was ruled in play but the Braves asked about the call. Crew chief Brian Gorman watched the replay and upheld the call.

06/03 OAK @ MIL
In the bottom of the seventh, Rickie Weeks' fly ball struck the yellow stripe at the top of the padded wall and caromed back onto the field. Weeks reached 3B while 3B umpire Alan Porter signaled home run. Crew chief Jerry Layne watched the replay and overturned the call to a ball in play and placed Weeks on 3B.

06/04 CHA @ SEA
In the bottom of the third inning, Nick Franklin's fly ball struck the yellow stripe at the top of the padded wall in RF and caromed back onto the field. Two gloves were extended over the railing behind the wall but they did not touch the ball. The play was ruled a home run and Franklin slowed his run into a trot. Franklin was tagged before he reached 2B but was allowed to continue around the bases on the homer. Crew chief Dale Scott watched the replay and overturned the call to a ball in play and awarded Franklin second base and an RBI. White Sox manager Robin Ventura argued with Scott about the placement of Franklin, claiming that he was out at 2B.

06/04 COL @ CIN
In the top of the eighth, Troy Tulowitzki's fly ball was caught just over the yellow stripe in LF and ruled fan interference. Crew chief Gary Cedestrom watched the replay and overturned the call to a home run.

06/05 CHN @ ANA
In the bottom of the second inning, J.B. Shuck hit a fly ball down the RF line that was ruled a home run. The Cubs claimed it was foul so the umpires huddled. Crew chief Jim Joyce watched the replay and overturned the call to a foul ball.

06/12 SFN @ PIT
In the bottom of the seventh, Neil Walker's fly ball struck a seat and caromed back onto the field. It was ruled in play and Walker reached 2B. The umpires huddled. Crew chief Tim McClelland watched the replay and overturned the call to a home run.

06/13 SFN @ PIT
In the top of the ninth, Nick Noonan's fly ball struck the yellow stripe at the top of the padded wall in RFC and caromed back onto the field. It was ruled a home run but the Pirates asked about the call. Crew chief Tim McClelland watched the replay and overturned the call to a ball in play and awarded Noonan a double. This would have been Noonan's first career homer. The ball was taken out of play for Noonan before the review.

06/18 SEA @ ANA
In the top of the second, Justin Smoak's fly ball to RF was touched by a fan just over the top of the wall. It was ruled a home run but the Angels claimed fan interference. Crew chief John Hirschbeck watched the replay and upheld the call.

06/25 COL @ BOS
In the bottom of the fourth inning, Stephen Drew's fly ball struck the top of the wall in CF in front of the camera position and caromed back onto the field. It was ruled in play. Crew chief Fieldin Culbreth watched the replay and upheld the call after a long delay.

06/28 CLE @ CHA
In the top of the eighth of game two, Michael Brantley hit a line drive on the second pitch that went by the RF pole just a couple of feet foul. It was ruled a foul ball but Indians manager Terry Francona asked about the call. After the umpires huddled, acting crew chief Wally Bell watched the replay and upheld the call.

07/01 ARI @ NYN
In the bottom of the ninth, Marlon Byrd's fly ball struck the orange stripe at the top of the padded wall and was in play for a double. The Mets asked about the play so crew chief Tim Welke watched the review and upheld the call.

07/02 SFN @ CIN
In the bottom of the first, Shin-Soo Choo's fly ball struck the glove of Hunter Pence and caromed into the air. The ball landed on the field and was ruled a home run by 2B umpire and crew chief Fieldin Culbreth. It appeared that the ball had struck a fan before landing on the field. The Giants asked about the ruling so Culbreth watched the and overturned the call to a ball in play and a double.

07/05 ATL @ PHI
In the bottom of the second inning, Humberto Quintero hit a fly ball to RF that was touched by a fan over the fence and ruled a home run even though it caromed of the fanís hands onto the field. The Braves asked about the call so crew chief Dana DeMuth watched the replay and upheld the call.

07/05 COL @ ARI
In the bottom of the third inning, A.J. Pollock's fly hit the yellow stripe at the top of the fence in front of the LF bullpen. The ball caromed up and back onto the field and was ruled in play. The D-backs asked about the call so crew chief Dale Scott watched the replay and upheld the call.

07/06 NYN @ MIL
In the top of the fifth, John Buck's fly ball to RF struck the pole. It was ruled a fair ball by 1B umpire Bob Davidson and a home run by 2B umpire Jim Reynolds. The Brewers asked about the ruling so crew chief John Hirschbeck watched the replay and upheld the call.

07/07 LAN @ SFN
In the top of the fourth, Hanley Ramirez hit the first pitch he saw down the LF line which was ruled foul. Just before the next pitch was thrown, Dodgers manager Don Mattingly asked about the call so crew chief Brian Gorman watched the replay and upheld the call.

07/08 NYN @ SFN
In the bottom of the seventh, Hunter Pence hit a fly ball to right center that struck the top of the wall on the concrete atop the brick facing. The ball was ruled in play and Pence reached third on the play. The Giants asked about the ruling so acting crew chief Bill Miller watched the replay and upheld the call.

07/10 TEX @ BAL
In the bottom of the fourth inning, Brian Roberts hit a fly ball to CF in front of the bleachers. The ball struck the heel of Engel Beltre's glove and caromed off the top of the padded wall. The ball was ruled in play. When the Orioles asked about the ruling, crew chief Fieldin Culbreth watched the replay and upheld the call.

07/13 CIN @ ATL
In the top of the second inning, Chris Heisey's fly ball struck the yellow stripe at the top of the LF wall and caromed back onto the field. It was ruled in play but the Reds asked about the call. Crew chief Joe West watched the replay and upheld the call.

07/21 PHI @ NYN
There were two uses of replay for very similar plays in this game.

07/27 BOS @ BAL
In the top of the sixth inning, Stephen Drew's fly ball struck on top of the wall in RF and caromed back onto the field. The ball was ruled in play by 1B umpire Mike Estabrook. Jarrod Saltalamacchia scored and Drew trotted around 3B thinking he had a home run. The ball was relayed in to catcher Matt Wieters but Drew evaded Wieters and scored on what was ruled an inside the park home run by official scorer David Vincent. The Red Sox asked about the ruling on the ball in RF so crew chief Mike Winters watched the replay and overturned the call to a home run. This use of the review system changed the ruling on the field but did not change the result of the play on the field or the statistical result!

07/28 HOU @ TOR
In the bottom of the sixth, Edwin Encarnacion's fly ball struck the padded wall in the shadows in CF. The ball was ruled in play and Encarnacion reached 2B. Crew chief Joe West watched the replay and upheld the call.

07/28 MIN @ SEA
In the top of the second, Ryan Doumit's fly to RF hit Endy Chavez' glove and caromed up into the air. The ball struck the yellow stripe at the top of the padded wall and landed on the field. It was ruled in play. Acting crew chief Ron Kulpa watched the replay and upheld the call.

07/31 NYN @ MIA
In the top of the third inning, Eric Young's fly to CF struck the top of the padded wall and caromed onto the field. Young reached 3B on the play. Crew chief Joe West watched the replay and upheld the call.

07/31 SLN @ PIT
In the top of the third, Matt Holliday's fly to RF struck the metal railing with the yellow stripe at the top of the wall and caromed back onto the field. Holliday thought it was a home run and stopped running, only reaching 1B on the play. The ball was ruled in play. Acting crew chief Eric Cooper watched the replay and upheld the call.

08/02 ATL @ PHI
In the bottom of the sixth inning, Chase Utleyís fly ball was caught by a fan in the CF seats. He reached over from the second row into an empty seat in the first row. The play was ruled a home run. Braves manager Fredi Gonzalez asked about fan interference so crew chief Gary Cederstrom watched the replay and upheld the call.

08/02 ARI @ BOS
In the top of the seventh, Cody Ross' fly ball to LF was touched by a fan in the front row of the Monster Seats. The ball fell back onto the field and was called a home run. Crew chief Jeff Kellogg watched the replay and upheld the call.

08/02 SEA @ BAL
In the bottom of the fourth, Ryan Flaherty's fly ball struck the metal railing and the top of the wall above the out of town scoreboard in RF. The ball caromed back onto the field and was ruled in play. Crew chief Brian Gorman watched the replay and overturned the call to a home run.

08/04 ATL @ PHI
Two original homer calls were overturned in this game.

08/09 PHI @ WAS
In the bottom of the second, Anthony Rendon hit a fly to right center that struck the metal railing above the wall. It was ruled a home run but the Phillies asked about the call. Crew chief John Hirschbeck watched the replay and upheld the call.

08/13 HOU @ OAK
In the bottom of the ninth with the Athletics behind one run and a runner on 1B, Chris Young hit a fly ball down the LF line that was ruled foul. The ball was just to the foul side of the pole. Crew chief Dana DeMuth watched the replay and upheld the call.

08/14 SEA @ TBA
In the bottom of the ninth, Ben Zobrist's fly ball struck the yellow-painted railing at the top of the fence. The ball was ruled in play. Acting crew chief Wally Bell watched the replay and upheld the call.

08/15 NYN @ SDN
In the bottom of the third inning, Rene Rivera's fly ball struck the glove of LF Eric Young over the top of the wall. The ball caromed off the glove and the top of the wall and landed on the field. It was ruled in play. Crew chief Gerry Davis watched the replay and upheld the call.

08/18 TOR @ TBA
In the bottom of the first, Evan Longoria's fly ball to RF was caught just over the top of the wall by a fan. It was ruled a home run. Crew chief Jerry Layne watched the replay and upheld the call.

08/21 ARI @ CIN
In the top of the eighth inning, Geraldo Parra's fly ball struck an empty seat in the front row in LF and caromed back onto the field. It was ruled in play but crew chief Gary Darling watched the replay and overturned the call to a home run.

08/23 MIL @ CIN
In the top of the eighth, Scooter Gennett's fly ball was caught by a fan in the front row in RF. The fan reached over the wall but the ball hit his arms in the seating area and not his hands in the playing area. It was ruled a home run. Crew chief Ted Barrett watched the replay and upheld the call.

08/23 TOR @ HOU
In the bottom of the first, Jose Altuve's fly to left center struck the wall a few feet below the yellow stripe and was ruled in play. Crew chief Mike Winters watched the replay and upheld the call.

08/24 TOR @ HOU
In the top of the fifth, Kevin Pillar's fly ball to right center hit the metal railing above the yellow stripe and caromed back onto the field. It was ruled in play but the umpires immediately huddled. Crew chief Mike Winters watched the replay and overturned the call to a home run. This was Pillar's first career homer. As Pillar crossed the plate, HP umpire Bill Miller handed the ball to Pillar as a souvenir.

09/02 TEX @ OAK
In the bottom of the fifth inning, Coco Crisp's fly ball down the LF line struck the edge of the pole on the foul side and caromed over the fence in foul territory. The ball was ruled a home run by 3B umpire and crew chief Tom Hallion but the Rangers argued the call. Hallion watched the replay and upheld the call.

09/04 DET @ BOS
In the bottom of the seventh, Ryan Lavarnway's line drive struck the facing of the first row of Monster Seats and was ruled in play. Lavarnway reached 2B and the umpires huddled. Crew chief Jeff Kellogg watched the replay and overturned the call to a home run.

09/06 DET @ KCA
In the top of the fifth inning, Omar Infante's fly ball was touched by a fan reaching over the top of the LF wall. The ball caromed off the wall and was ruled in play with Infante reaching 2B. Crew chief Ted Barrett watched the replay and upheld the call.

09/07 TEX @ ANA
In the bottom of the third, Mark Trumbo hit a fly ball down the LF line that was just foul. Angels manager Mike Scioscia asked about the call so crew chief Fieldin Culbreth watched the replay and upheld the call.

09/07 WAS @ MIA
In the top of the first inning, Ryan Zimmerman's fly ball hit on the top of the wall and caromed off the flamingo sign just behind the fence. The ball was ruled in play and Zimmerman reached 2B. Crew chief Gary Cedestrom watched the replay and overturned the call to a home run.

09/09 KCA @ CLE
In the bottom of the seventh inning, Carlos Santana hit a fly ball down the RF line that was ruled foul by 1B umpire and crew chief Dana DeMuth. The umpires huddled briefly and DeMuth then watched the replay and overturned the call to a home run because the ball touched the pole on the right side as it went by.

09/11 OAK @ MIN
In the top of the fifth, Josh Reddick's fly ball struck the top of the wall a couple of feet inside the RF pole in front of a television camera. The ball was ruled a home run but crew chief Dale Scott watched the replay and overturned the call to a ball in play and awarded Reddick a double.

09/12 WAS @ NYN
In the top of the second inning, Adam LaRoche's fly ball to LF struck just above the orange stripe at the top of the padded wall. Eric Young jumped in an attempt to catch the ball, partially blocking the view. The ball was ruled in play and LaRoche reached 2B. Crew chief John Hirschbeck watched the replay and overturned the call to a home run.

09/15 SFN @ LAN
In the bottom of the fourth, Juan Uribe's fly ball to CF struck the padded wall about two feet from the top and caromed back onto the field. CF Gregor Blanco jumped in an attempt to catch the ball, which was fielded by RF Hunter Pence. The ball was ruled in play and crew chief Gerry Davis watched the replay and upheld the call.

09/16 MIN @ CHA
In the bottom of the second, Jordan Danks' fly ball struck the top of the wall, bounced up and back onto the field. It was ruled in play and Danks reached 2B. Crew chief Ted Barrett watched the replay and upheld the call.

09/26 MIL @ NYN
In the bottom of the ninth inning, pinch hitter Josh Satin hit a fly ball down the LF line that struck at the base of the metal fence a few feet above the orange stripe. It was ruled in play. Satin did not run, thinking the ball was going to be foul but it was fair by at least eight feet. Satin ran to 1B before the ball was returned to the infield. Crew chief Dale Scott watched the replay and overturned the call to a home run.

09/27 BOS @ BAL
In the top of the third, Jarrod Saltalamacchia hit a fly ball to RF that struck the top front edge of the roof above the grounds crew seating area. The ball was ruled a home run. Crew chief Fieldin Culbreth watched the replay and overturned the call to a ball in play. The runner at 2B was allowed to score and the runner on 1B and the batter each were given two bases on the play. The ground rule is that the ball must strike the top of the roof not the front edge for a home run.

09/27 NYA at HOU
In the top of the sixth inning, Alfonso Soriano hit a fly to the Crawford Boxes in LF. A fan reached out with a glove and touched the ball at the yellow stripe atop the wall. The ball caromed back onto the field and was ruled fan interference and a double but the Yankees thought it was a home run. Crew chief Gary Cederstrom watched the replay and upheld the call.

09/27 PIT @ CIN
In the top of the sixth inning, Marlon Byrd's fly ball struck the yellow stripe at the corner of the wall just to the left of the bullpen in CF. It was ruled in play. Crew chief Mike Winters watched the replay and upheld the call.

10/01 CIN @ PIT (NL Wild Card)
In the top of the eighth, Shin-Soo Choo's fly ball was touched by a fan who reached out over the railing at the top of the RF wall. The ball fell to the field and was ruled a home run. Crew chief Joe West watched the replay and upheld the call.

10/08 OAK @ DET (AL Division Series)
In the bottom of the seventh, Victor Martinez hit a fly ball to RF that was touched by two fans leaning over the railing. The play was ruled a home run by RF umpire Gary Darling but the Athletics claimed fan interference. Darling, the crew chief, and four other umpires watched the replay and upheld the call.

10/19 DET @ BOS (AL Championship Series)
In the bottom of the third inning, Dustin Pedroia hit a fly ball down the LF line that curved just to the foul side of the pole. It was ruled a foul ball by LF umpire Alfonzo Marquez. The Red Sox asked about the call so crew chief Joe West watched the replay and upheld the call.


Page Updated: 4/5/2014
All data contained at this site is copyright © 1996-2014