Retrosheet


Usage of the Replay System

2011 (67 times, 17 changed, 50 upheld)

4/1 CHA @ CLE
In the top of the third inning, Carlos Quentin's fly ball was touched by a fan in the first row and rebounded back on the field. The play was ruled a home run but Indians manager Manny Acta asked about the play. Mike Winters, in his first game as a permanent crew chief, watched the replay and upheld the ruling on the field.

4/1 CHA @ CLE
In the bottom of the seventh of the same game, Carlos Santana's fly to the same spot as the one by Carlos Quentin in the third hit off a fan's glove just above the yellow stripe. The ball rebounded back onto the field. White Sox manager Ozzie Guillen asked about the play so crew chief Mike Winters watched the replay and upheld the call on the field.

4/2 DET @ NYA
The first batter in the bottom of the fifth inning, Robinson Cano, hit a fly ball that went through the hands of a fan who reached over the wall in left field. The ball struck the top of the wall and rebounded onto the field and was ruled in play. The Yankees asked about the call, so crew chief Dale Scott watched the replay and upheld the call on the field.

4/6 WAS @ FLO
In the bottom of the fifth, John Buck's fly hit the yellow stripe at the top of the wall in the deepest part of the outfield in right center. It was ruled in play, but when the Marlins asked about the call, crew chief Tim Tschida watched the replay and upheld the call.

04/07 WAS @ FLO
In the top of the fourth, Jayson Werth's fly ball hit the metal rail just behind the wall padding and bounced back onto the field. It was ruled a homer but the Marlins asked about it, so crew chief Tim Tschida watched the replay and upheld the call.

04/10 KCA @ DET
In the bottom of the sixth inning, Alex Avila's fly ball was caught by a fan who reached over the metal fence. The play was ruled a homer but Kansas City manager Ned Yost asked about the call. Crew chief Tim Welke watched the replay and upheld the call since the ball cleared the wall before being touched.

04/11 CHN @ HOU
In the bottom of the seventh inning, Michael Bourn's fly to right field hit the top of the padding on the wall and landed on the warning track. It was ruled in play but the Astros asked about the call, so crew chief Gary Darling watched the replay and upheld the call.

04/14 COL @ NYN
In the second inning of game two, Scott Hairston's fly ball hit the top of the padding in the LF corner and rebounded onto the field. Mets manager Terry Collins ran onto the field to argue the ruling that the ball was in play. Acting crew chief Jim Joyce watched the replay and upheld the ruling. Collins continued to argue the call, which is not allowed in the replay rules.

04/15/ TOR @ BOS
In the top of the first inning, Adam Lind hit the third pitch to him down the RF line. The ball hit the top of the fence just to the right of the pole and bounced into the seats to the right of the pole among the fans. One fan made an attempt at catching the ball. The play was ruled fair and a home run but Red Sox RF J.D. Drew immediately signaled that it was not. Manager Terry Francona came out to ask about the call. Crew chief Dana DeMuth watched the replay and overturned the call to a foul ball.

04/17 ANA @ CHA
In the top of the sixth inning, the fly ball by Vernon Wells hit the top of the padding on the yellow line in right center and rebounded back onto the field. The Angels asked about the 'in play' ruling so crew chief Tom Hallion watched the replay and upheld the call.

04/19 ARI @ CIN
In the top of the fifth, Justin Upton's fly ball hit the top of the padding on the RF wall behind Jay Bruce's glove. The ball was ruled in play. The umpires huddled and then crew chief Gary Cederstrom watched the replay and upheld the call.

04/22 ARI @ NYN
In the bottom of the seventh inning, the fly ball by Ike Davis hit the CF wall a few feet above the red line that indicates home run. The ball was ruled in play but the umpires huddled and then crew chief Gerry Davis watched the replay and overturned the call to a home run.

04/24 CLE @ MIN
In the top of the fourth, Michael Brantley's fly to RF hit the front of the seats that overhang the field. The ball was ruled a home run but crew chief Tom Hallion watched the replay and overturned the call to a ball in play. Brantley was awarded second on the play.

05/01 SLN @ ATL
In the bottom of the seventh inning, Dan Uggla's fly to center hit the top of the padding on the wall and bounced back onto the field. The ball was ruled in play but Braves manager Fredi Gonzalez asked about the call, so crew chief Tim McClelland watched the replay and upheld the call.

05/03 ANA @ BOS
In the bottom of the eighth, Marco Scutaro's fly to the top of the wall in left-center field was caught by a fan who leaned forward to catch the ball. It was ruled a home run. When the Angels asked about the call, crew chief John Hirschbeck watched the replay and upheld the call.

05/08 MIN @ BOS
In the top of the fourth inning, the fly ball by Danny Valencia hit the LF pole and was ruled a homer. Boston manager Terry Francona asked about the ruling, so crew chief Joe West watched the replay and upheld the call.

05/09 LAN @ PIT
In the bottom of the first, Garrett Jones fly ball was touched by a fan at the top of the wall over the scoreboard. The fan reached over the chain-link fence to touch the ball, which rebounded onto the field. The play was ruled fan interference and Jones was awarded a double. Pirates manager Clint Hurdle asked about the call so crew chief Tim Welke watched the replay and upheld the call.

05/12 TBA @ CLE
In the bottom of the eighth inning, the fly ball by Asdrubal Cabrera hit the yellow stripe at the top of the wall in the deepest part of RF. It was ruled in play but the Indians asked about the call, so crew chief Dale Scott watched the replay and upheld the call.

05/17 NYA @ TBA
In the bottom of the ninth inning, Kelly Shoppach's towering fly ball appeared to hit one of the catwalks at Tropicana Field. Yankees LF Brett Gardner caught the ball on the warning track; Rays manager Joe Maddon talked with crew chief Gary Darling and asked if the ball hit the C-ring catwalk. If it did, the play is a home run by ground rule. Darling watched the replay for 4 minutes and 2 seconds and upheld the call

05/19 ATL @ ARI
In the bottom of the sixth, Juan Miranda's fly ball hit just to the left of the vertical line on the wall in CF. It was ruled in play but Diamondbacks manager Kirk Gibson asked about the call. Crew chief Joe West watched the replay and upheld the call.

05/20 MIN @ ARI
In the top of the eighth inning, Jason Kubel's fly ball hit the overhang in the deepest part of CF just to the left of the vertical yellow line. It was ruled in play but the Twins asked about the call so crew chief Tim Tschida watched the replay and upheld the call.

05/24 ATL @ PIT
In the top of the fifth, Chipper Jones hit a fly ball to center field. A fan reached over the fence and caught the ball in his cap but then dropped it. The play was ruled fan interference. Martin Prado scored on the play but after crew chief Jeff Kellogg watched the replay he upheld the call and put the runners on 2B and 3B.

05/25 CIN @ PHI
In the top of the tenth inning, Jay Bruce's fly ball was caught and dropped by a fan at the fence. It was ruled a homer but, after a brief umpire conference, crew chief Brian Gorman watched the replay and upheld the call as the fan did not reach out over the fence to touch the ball.

06/01 ANA @ KCA
In the bottom of the ninth of a scoreless game, Billy Butler's fly ball hit just over the top of the padded wall, bounced and struck the railing in front of the seats. It caromed back onto the field and was ruled in play. Royals manager Ned Yost asked about the call, so crew chief Gary Cederstrom watched the replay and overturned the call to a game-ending homer. This is the second time a game ended on an overturned call (8/29/2010 @ Atltanta).

06/03 MIN @ KCA
In the bottom of the third, Eric Hosmer's fly got wedged in the padding at the top of the wall. A fan had reached out but did not touch the ball. Once it was stuck, the fan pulled it out of the padding and held it up. It was ruled a dead ball and a double. When the Royals asked about the call, crew chief Mike Winters watched the replay and upheld the call.

06/05 PHI @ PIT
In the top of the seventh inning, Domonic Brown's fly to RF hit the railing just to the left of the scoreboard and caromed back onto the field. The ball was ruled in play. Crew chief Joe West watched the replay and upheld the call. Brown earlier had a ball hit an umpire, preventing a run from scoring.

06/09 CHN @ PHI
In the top of the ninth, after Giovanni Soto tied the game with a solo homer, Tyler Colvin's fly ball to right was touched by a fan who reached over the railing. The ball caromed into the seating area and was ruled a home run but Phillies manager Charlie Manuel asked about the call. Crew chief Gary Cederstrom watched the replay and overturned the call to a double. He called both managers onto the field to explain the change but when Cubs manager Mike Quade started to argue (which is prohibited by the rules), Cederstrom walked away.

06/11 WAS @ SDN
In the bottom of the fourth, Ryan Ludwick hit the first pitch down the LF line. The ball was barely foul, hit the brick wall of the Western Metal Supply Co. building and caromed to the left. The pole is a yellow stripe on the corner of the building. (Pictures and description) Third base umpire Wally Bell called the ball fair, thinking it hit the pole. Crew chief John Hirschbeck watched the replay and overturned the call to a foul ball.

06/17 PIT @ CLE
In the bottom of the eighth, Travis Hafner's fly ball hit RF Xavier Paul's glove then caromed off the yellow stripe at the top of the wall. It was called in play although Hafner thought he had a homer. Indians manager Manny Acta asked about the call so crew chief Derryl Cousins watched the replay and upheld the call.

06/21 OAK @ NYN
In the bottom of the eighth inning, Jason Bay hit a fly to deep CF to the right of the 408' marker. CF Coco Crisp made a leaping attempt to catch the ball but closed his glove too soon. The ball struck his glove as Crisp was still going up, bounced up and struck the glove again higher than the orange stripe and then caromed back onto the field. The ball was ruled in play, but when Mets manager Terry Collins asked about the ruling, crew chief Gary Cederstrom watched the replay and upheld the call.

06/22 TOR @ ATL
In the bottom of the seventh, Brooks Conrad's fly to RF hit the top of the padding (on top of the yellow stripe), bounced off the back wall and caromed back onto the field. It was ruled in play by 1B umpire and crew chief Joe West. Conrad thought he had a home run and slowed down then ran harder to 3B, where he was tagged out. Before Braves manager Fredi Gonzalez could get onto the field, West called the umpires together briefly and then left to watch the replay. He overturned the call to a home run, which was Conrad's third PH homer of the season.

06/24 TBA @ HOU
In the top of the third inning, B.J. Upton's fly ball landed in the first row of the Crawford Boxes in left field. Astros left fielder Carlos Lee immediately put his hands up to signal fan interference to the umpires but the ball was ruled a homer. Astros Manager Brad Mills asked about the call, so crew chief Brian Gorman watched the replay and upheld the call.

06/26 TBA @ HOU
In the top of the sixth, Evan Longoria's fly to the LF Crawford boxes was ruled in play. Longoria, who thought he had a home run, was thrown out at 2B.A fan touched the ball, which caromed back onto the field. The umpires huddled briefly, then crew chief Brian Gorman watched the replay and overturned the call to a home run. This was the second use of replay in this series.

06/29 MIL @ NYA
In the bottom of the sixth inning, Jorge Posada's fly hit the top of the RF wall, bounced off a fan and caromed back onto the field. He slowed down thinking he had a home run. The ball was ruled in play and Posada was tagged out between 1B and 2B while gesturing about the home run. Crew chief Gary Cederstrom watched the replay and overturned the call to a home run.

07/04 KCA @ CHA
In the top of the ninth, Eric Hosmer's fly to CF was just beyond the stretch of CF Alex Rios. The ball was ruled in play and Hosmer reached 3B on the play. The ball hit the top of the wall and caromed off the railing behind the wall back onto the field. It came on the first pitch by Sergio Santos. Royals manager Ned Yost asked about the call, so crew chief Ed Rapuano watched the replay and overturned the call to a home run. This tied the game.

07/10 CIN @ MIL
In the bottom of the second, Randy Wolf hit a fly ball down the RF line that was ruled foul. Wolf objected to the call and Brewers manager Ron Roenicke asked crew chief Gary Darling about it. Darling watched the replay and upheld the call.

07/16 ANA @ OAK
In the bottom of the eighth, Hideki Matsui's fly hit at the top of the wall in right center, just below the yellow stripe. The ball was ruled in play Crew chief Dale Scott watched the replay and upheld the call.

07/17 CLE @ BAL
In the top of the first, Carlos Santana's fly ball was very high and down the RF line. As it passed the pole it was hard to tell if it was fair or foul from the video. 1B umpire Hunter Wendelstedt called it fair and a home run. Orioles manager Buck Showalter asked about the call so acting crew chief Bob Davidson watched the replay and upheld the call.

07/19 OAK @ DET
In the bottom of the fifth, Carlos Guillen's fly to right-center was touched by a fan well above the yellow line and the ball caromed back onto the field. The ball was ruled a home run but when the Athletics asked about the call, crew chief John Hirschbeck watched the replay and upheld the call. This was Guillenís first game since August 2010.

07/20 MIL @ ARI
In the top of the eighth inning, Ryan Braun hit the second pitch down the RF line. The ball was ruled fair and a home run. When D-Backs manager Kirk Gibson asked 1B umpire Marvin Hudson about the call, Hudson conferred with crew chief Tim McClelland. McClelland watched the replay and overturned the call to a foul ball. It would have been Braunís second homer of the game.

07/26 HOU @ SLN
In the bottom of the first, Albert Pujols' fly hit on the top of the wall and caromed back onto the field. It was ruled a home run but the Astros argued the call. Acting crew chief Jim Reynolds watched the replay and upheld the call.

07/28 ANA @ DET
In the top of the second, Mark Trumbo's fly ball went down the LF line. A fan leaned out from foul territory with his hands in fair territory. The ball went through his hands and struck near the bottom of the LF pole. It was ruled fair but no immediate signal was given that it was a home run. Trumbo slid into 3B safely. 3B umpire Hunter Wendelstedt signaled a home run. Both managers came onto the field but the umpires huddled. Crew chief Jerry Layne watched the replay and upheld the call of homer.

07/31 CHN @ SLN
In the bottom of the fifth inning, the fly ball by David Freese hit on the top of the CF wall and caromed back onto the field. The ball was ruled in play but the Cardinals thought it might be a homer. Crew chief Derryl Cousins watched the replay and upheld the call.

08/01 CLE @ BOS
In the top of the eighth, Asdrubal Cabreraís fly ball just inside the RF pole hit what appeared to be the top of the wall and caromed onto the field. It was ruled in play but the umpires got together. Crew chief Gerry Davis watched the replay and overturned the call to a home run. The ball struck a fan in the front row and Davis changed the call when he saw the woman react to being hit. She had a large mark on her thigh later and the stitches of the ball were clearly visible in the bruise.

08/03 BAL @ KCA
In the top of the eighth inning, Felix Pie's fly ball hit the padded railing at the top of the RF wall above the out-of-town scoreboard and was ruled in play. Orioles manager Buck Showalter asked about the ground rules for that fence. Crew chief Jeff Kellogg watched the replay and upheld the call.

08/03 OAK @ SEA
In the top of the fifth, Conor Jackson's fly hit off the top of the padded wall just behind the glove of LF Greg Halman, who seemed to have a chance to catch the ball. The ball caromed back onto the field and was ruled in play. Crew chief Mike Winters watched the replay and upheld the call. Jackson was the first baserunner of the game for Oakland.

08/13 DET @ BAL
In the bottom of the second inning, Blake Davis' fly ball was nearly caught by LF Andy Dirks, who reached above the wall and appeared to hurt himself in doing so. The ball hit something and rebounded onto the field. It was ruled a home run but Tigers manager Jim Leyland came on the field as the umpires huddled. Acting crew chief Jeff Nelson watched the replay and upheld the call. This was Davisís first home run.

08/17 TEX @ ANA
In the bottom of the first inning, Mark Trumbo's fly hit near the top of the out-of-town scoreboard and caromed back onto the field. It was ruled in play. Torii Hunter slid in to home just ahead of the tag by Yorvit Torrealba. Rangers manager Ron Washington argued the call at home with HP umpire Fieldin Culbreth while Angels manager Mike Scioscia went onto the field to ask about the ruling on the fly ball by 1B umpire Lance Barksdale. Acting crew chief Ted Barrett watched the replay and upheld the call.

08/17 NYA @ KCA
In the bottom of the third, Billy Butler's fly ball hit the top of the padding and caromed back onto the field. It was ruled a home run but Yankees manager Joe Girardi asked about the call. Crew chief Dana DeMuth watched the replay and upheld the call. The Yankees were upset by this. Mariano Rivera yelled from the dugout and was told to stop by HP umpire Chad Fairchild. When Rivera continued, coaches moved him away. Girardi went out to talk with DeMuth, insisting that the ground rule made this a ball in play. After the game, the four umpires were on the warning track with supervisor Steve Palermo.

08/18 NYA @ MIN
In the bottom of the first inning, Justin Morneau hit the 1-0 pitch down the RF line. It was a very high, very deeply hit fly ball that 1B umpire Jim Wolf called fair and a home run. Yankees manager Joe Girardi questioned Wolf on the call. The umpires huddled and then acting crew chief Brian O'Nora watched the replay with Wolf and overturned the call. Twins manager Ron Gardenhire came out and argued with O'Nora for a bit, and kept saying that the ball was over the pole. O'Nora ejected Gardenhire, who then walked down the line to talk with Wolf. This was the first time someone was ejected for arguing a review.

08/21 SEA @ TBA
In the bottom of the seventh, Johnny Damon's fly hit the top of the wall on the yellow line and caromed back onto the field. It was ruled a home run (thus a grand slam). Damon stopped at 2B but eventually ran the circuit. Mariners manager Eric Wedge asked crew chief Mike Winters about the call, so Winters watched the replay. After a 2:41 delay, Winters overturned the call to a ball in play, giving Damon a double and allowing all three runners to score. Damon was stranded at 2B.

08/23 BOS @ TEX
In the top of the eighth inning, Marco Scutaro's fly ball hit the top of the padded LF wall and caromed back onto the field. Boston manager Terry Francona asked 3B umpire Paul Nauert about the call, so crew chief Dana DeMuth watched the replay and upheld the call.

08/27 TBA @ TOR
In the top of the sixth, B.J. Upton hit the third pitch down the LF line. It was hard to tell if it was fair or foul because of the light color of the pole but was ruled foul. Crew chief Tim Tschida watched the replay and upheld the call.

08/31 TOR @ BAL
In the top of the eighth, Edwin Encarnacion's fly to LF was touched by a fan reaching over the wall with a hat. The ball was ruled in play and fan interference. When the Blue Jays asked about the call, crew chief Joe West watched the replay and upheld the call of fan interference.

09/03 CHA @ DET
In the bottom of the first inning, Miguel Cabrera's fly ball hit the yellow stripe at the top of the wall over the out-of-town scoreboard in right center. It was ruled in play but Tigers manager Jim Leyland asked about the call. Crew chief Jeff Kellogg watched the replay and upheld the call.

09/04 PHI @ FLO
In the top of the sixth, Hunter Pence hit a fly ball to RF, where Bryan Petersen made a leaping attempt to catch the ball. His glove was above the yellow stripe at the top of the wall but a fan reached over the wall with a Phillies cap and touched the ball. The ball was ruled in play, with Pence reaching second and Ryan Howard running from first to third. Both managers came out of the dugout. The umpires huddled and crew chief Joe West watched the replay and overturned the call to fan interference. Pence was called out and Howard returned to first base. The ball might have cleared the fence without the interference, and it might have been caught. Phillies manager Charlie Manuel talked to West questioning the interpretation of using the replay rule in this instance, not the decision made after watching the replay. Manuel was ejected by West. This process, including the review, took 13 minutes. The Phillies protested the game because of the use of the replay. At the time, the game was tied, 2-2 and the Marlins won the contest in 14 innings, 5-4.

09/06 BAL @ NYA
In the bottom of the seventh, Francisco Cervelli's fly ball to LF was touched by two fans who reached out over the fence. The ball was ruled a homer by 3B umpire Paul Emmel. Orioles manager Buck Showalter asked about the call so crew chief Gary Darling watched the replay and upheld the call.

09/08 PHI @ MIL
In the top of the sixth inning, Shane Victorino's fly ball hit the yellow line at the top of the LF wall a couple of feet from the pole. It was ruled fair and in play by 3B umpire Gerry Davis, who is also the crew chief. Phillies manager Charlie Manuel asked about the call, so Davis watched the replay and upheld the call

09/11 LAN @ SFN
In the bottom of the second, Aubrey Huff's fly hit the top of the CF wall. The ball was ruled in play but crew chief John Hirschbeck watched the replay and upheld the call.

09/13 TOR @ BOS
In the top of the second, J.P. Arencibia's fly ball hit the rail on the top of the LF wall and was ruled a homer. A ball that hits on top of the wall is a home run according to the ground rule. Red Sox manager Terry Francona asked about the call so crew chief Gerry Davis watched the replay and upheld his own call.

09/16 TBA @ BOS
In the top of the first, Evan Longoriaís fly ball hit on the top of the LF wall and was touched by a fan. It was ruled a home run. Red Sox manager Terry Francona asked about the call, so crew chief Jerry Layne watched the replay and upheld the call.

9/17 CHA @ KCA
In the bottom of the fifth, Mike Moustakas hit on the top ofthe out of town scoreboard in right center, hit the railing and caromed back onto the field. It was ruled a home run, but White Sox manager Ozzie Guillen asked about the call. Crew chief Tim Tschida watched the replay and upheld the call.

9/18 HOU @ CHN
In the bottom of the eighth, Carlos Pena's fly to LF hit the yellow stripe on the front edge of the basket that hangs on the wall. (Pictures and description) There was an umbrella in the basket that moved as the ball hit, making it appear that the ball struck the umbrella and caromed back onto the field. The play was ruled a homer by 3B umpire Marty Foster but when Astros manager Brad Mills asked about the call, acting chief Jeff Nelson watched the replay and overturned the call to a ball in play. The runners were placed at 2B and 3B, which was the correct ruling based on the position of Starlin Castro as the ball was thrown into the infield. Cubs manager Mike Quade argued the ruling and was ejected by Foster.

9/18 TEX @ SEA
In the top of the third, Ian Kinsler hit the 1-2 pitch down the LF line. The ball was ruled fair and a homer by 3B umpire and crew chief Brian Gorman. Gorman watched the replay and overturned the call to a foul ball.

9/19 PIT @ ARI
In the bottom of the sixth, Justin Upton broke his bat on the fly that was touched by a fan at the LF wall as Alex Presley leaped to attempt a catch. The play was ruled a home run but the Pirates objected to the call. Crew chief Brian Gorman watched the replay and upheld the call.

9/22 NYN @ SLN
In the top of the fourth, Willie Harris hit the second pitch down the RF line. The ball passed just to the right of the pole and was called foul. The Mets objected to the call, so crew chief Tim Welke watched the review and upheld the call.

9/30 DET @ NYA (League Division Series)
In the bottom of the fifth of a game started on 9/30 but suspended until 10/1, Robinson Cano's fly to LF hit the top of the wall and caromed back onto the field. It was ruled in play but when the Yankees asked about the call, crew chief Gerry Davis watched the replay and upheld the call. The replay occurred on 10/1 and was the fourth usage in post-season.


Page Updated: 4/27/2012
All data contained at this site is copyright © 1996-2012