Retrosheet


Usage of the Replay System

Usage of the Replay System

 

2010 (69 times, 24 changed, 45 upheld)

4/6 SFN @ HOU
In the bottom of the sixth inning, Jeff Keppinger's fly ball hit at the top of the LF wall in front of the Crawford Boxes and called in play by 3B umpire (and crew chief) Tim Welke. Astros manager Brad Mills asked about the call. After the umpires talked on the field, Welke watched the replay and upheld the call.

4/11 WAS @ NYN
In the top of the first, Josh Willingham hit a fly ball to center field that struck the wall just to the right of the vertical line indicating a home run. The ball was called in play and three runs scored on the triple. The third runner, Adam Dunn, ran over the Mets catcher, Rod Barajas, and the ball rolled towards the backstop. Willingham tried to score on the misplay but was tagged out by Barajas. The umpires huddled on the field and then crew chief Derryl Cousins watched the replay and overturned the call to a grand slam home run.

4/12 BOS @ MIN
In the first game at Target Field, Mike Cameron of the Red Sox hit a fly ball down the left field line that went between the pole and the limestone facing of the stands. It was ruled a foul ball by 3B umpire Kerwin Danley. Red Sox manager Terry Francona asked about the ruling, so crew chief Tim Tschida looked at the replay and upheld the call. The gap between the pole and the wall is very narrow.

4/13 CIN @ FLO
In the top of the second inning, Jay Bruce hit a fly ball down the RF line on the second pitch that was called a fair ball and home run by 1B umpire Larry Vanover. Marlins RF Cody Ross insisted that the ball was foul so Marlins manager Fredi Gonzalez asked crew chief Jeff Kellogg to review the play. After the umpires huddled, Kellogg watched the replay and overturned the call to a foul ball.

4/20 CLE @ MIN
Target Field saw its second replay in its first month of service. In the top of the fifth, Austin Kearns hit a fly to left center field and the ball struck the top of the wall. When it came back onto the field and was called in play, Indians manager Manny Acta asked about the call. Crew chief Tim Tschida watched the replay and upheld the call.

4/23 CHN @ MIL
Prince Fielder’s fly ball in the first inning hit the top of the CF wall on the yellow stripe. It was called in play and Fielder reached second. However, the Brewers claimed it was a home run so crew chief John Hirschbeck watched the replay and upheld the call.

4/28 CLE @ ANA
In the top of the sixth, the fly ball by Lou Marson hit the top of the wall in right center and was ruled in play by 2B umpire Paul Schrieber. Indians manager Manny Acta asked about the call, so crew chief Joe West watched the replay and upheld the call.

5/3 SLN @ PHI
In the bottom of the first inning, Chase Utley hit the 3-2 pitch down the RF line. It curved past the pole on the foul side and was called a foul ball by 1B umpire Adrian Johnson. Phillies manager Charlie Manuel asked Johnson about the call, the umpires conferred and then crew chief Tim McClelland watched the replay and upheld the call.

5/4 NYN @ CIN
Scott Rolen's fly to right center in the bottom of the eighth inning hit off the hands of a fan in the first row of seats as Angel Pagan made a leaping attempt to catch the ball. Second base umpire Bill Welke ruled it a home run but Mets manager Jerry Manuel asked about the call, thinking it was fan interference. crew chief Tim Welke watched the replay and after a 1:45 delay, upheld the call

5/7 CHN @ CIN
In the top of the eighth, Marlon Byrd's fly to left hit the top of the wall on the yellow stripe and was ruled in play. Cubs manager Lou Piniella asked about the call, so crew chief Jerry Layne watched the replay and upheld the call.

5/10 TOR @ BOS
In the top of the second, the fly ball by Alex Gonzalez hit the top of the wall in left and was ruled in play. Crew chief Dale Scott watched the replay and upheld the call.

5/11 WAS @ NYN
In the bottom of the eighth, Ike Davis hit a fly ball down the right field line that was called a foul ball by 1B umpire James Hoye. Davis reacted strongly to the call and Mets manager Jerry Manuel came out to talk with Hoye. Crew chief John Hirschbeck watched the replay and upheld the call.

5/16 TEX @ TOR
In the bottom of the fourth inning, John Buck's fly hit the top of the wall in center field. The Blue Jays thought it hit over the fence and came back onto the field. Acting crew chief Mike Winters watched the replay and upheld the call.

5/18 CHA @ DET
In the bottom of the sixth, Brandon Inge hit the 1-2 pitch down the LF line past the pole. Third base umpire Dan Iassogna called it a home run but the White Sox said it was a foul ball. Crew chief Dale Scott watched the replay and overturned the call to a foul ball.

5/19 MIN @ BOS
In the bottom of the fourth, the fly ball by David Ortiz hit the table on the top of the wall in front of the Monster Seats in left-center. It was called in play, so Red Sox manager Terry Francona talked with crew chief Jerry Layne, who watched the replay and overturned the call to a homer.

5/21 ANA @ SLN
In the bottom of the third inning, Felipe Lopez followed a grand slam by pitcher Brad Penney with a fly that barely cleared the wall, hit the back wall and came back on the field. The Angels asked about the ruling of a homer, so crew chief Gary Darling briefly watched the replay and upheld the call.

5/23 NYA @ NYN
In the top of the seventh inning, Francisco Cervelli's fly hit the orange stripe at the top of the LF wall and caromed back onto the field. It struck the part of the wall that is taller than the rest of the wall. Cervelli, thinking he had a home run, did not run out the ball and only reached first base on the play. The Yankees thought it was a homer and asked about the call, so crew chief Derryl Cousins watched the replay and upheld the call.

5/27 WAS @ SFN
In the top of the seventh inning, Adam Dunn's high fly hit the concrete at the top of the RF wall where it juts out into the playing field. The ball caromed into the air and back onto the field and was ruled in play. Crew chief Brian Gorman watched the replay and upheld the call.

5/28 LAN @ COL
In the bottom of the fourth, the fly ball by Clint Barmes was caught by a fan in the front row in left center. Dodgers CF Matt Kemp immediately began signaling that the fan reached over the fence. Crew chief Dale Scott watched the replay and upheld the call of home run.

5/28 TEX @ MIN
In the top of the fourth, Ian Kinsler's fly down the LF line was just foul but called a home run. The Twins asked about the play so crew chief Brian Gorman watched the replay and overturned the call to foul.

5/29 TEX @ MIN
Delmon Young led off the bottom of the third inning. He hit the 1-1 pitch down the RF line. The ball hit on the top of the wall about 2 feet foul and was called foul. The Twins asked about the call so crew chief Brian Gorman looked at the replay and upheld the call.

6/1 ANA @ KCA
In the top of the sixth, Hideki Matsui’s fly ball hit the railing at the top of the wall in RF and was ruled in play. The Angels asked about the call so acting crew chief Mike Winters watched the replay and upheld the call.

6/3 OAK @ BOS
Marco Scutaro's fly ball down the LF line in the bottom of the eighth inning hit on top of the wall just in front of the Monster Seats and was ruled a home run. When the Athletics asked about the call, crew chief Dana DeMuth watched the replay and upheld the call.

6/5 BOS @ BAL
On the fourth pitch in the top of the sixth, Marco Scutaro hit a fly down the LF line that was ruled foul as it curved just past the pole. Acting crew chief Wally Bell watched the replay and upheld the call.

6/8 BOS @ CLE
In the top of the fourth, Kevin Youkilis' fly ball hit the top of the out-of-town scoreboard, bounced straight up and returned to the field. Red Sox manager Terry Francona asked about the call, so acting crew chief Mike Everitt watched the replay and upheld the call, which resulted in a double.

6/8 SDN @ NYN
In the bottom of the seventh, the fly by Jose Reyes hit on top of the LF wall above the orange stripe and came back on the field. It was ruled in play but the Mets asked about the call so crew chief Tim Welke watched the replay and overturned the call to a home run.

6/16 SEA @ SLN
In the bottom of the fourth, Mariners LF Milton Bradley leaped at the wall in front of the bullpen gate and briefly had the ball in his glove, preventing a possible homer. The ball bounced back onto the field and was ruled in play. Crew chief Gary Cederstrom watched the replay and upheld the call.

6/18 LAN @ BOS
In the bottom of the first, J.D. Drew’s fly hit on top of the LF wall and bounced back onto the field. It was ruled in play but the umpires huddled and then crew chief Brian Gorman watched the replay and overturned the call to a home run.

7/1 NYN @ WAS
In the bottom of the fifth inning, Ian Desmond's fly hit on the wall just to the right of the visiting bullpen near the top of the padding and bounced off the front of the bullpen wall. This is the spot where the wall cuts out away from the field. It was ruled in play but the Nationals asked about it so crew chief Tim Welke watched the replay and upheld the call.

7/3 BAL @ BOS
In the top of the ninth, the fly by Jake Fox hit just over the line at the front of the Monster Seats, caromed back onto the field and was ruled in play. When the Orioles asked about the call, the umpires huddled and then crew chief Tim McClelland watched the replay and overturned the call to a home run.

7/3 NYN @ WAS
In the bottom of the ninth, Adam Dunn's fly ball hit the top of the wall at the 402 marker in CF just over the glove of CF Angel Pagan. It bounced back onto the field and was ruled in play. Cristian Guzman held up at 3B to see if the ball would be caught while Willie Harris ran to 3B. After the ball fell in, Guzman started for the plate closely followed by Harris. When Guzman tagged up, Harris nearly passed him. The Nationals thought the ball was over the fence so crew chief Tim Welke watched the replay and upheld the call. The two runs tied the game, 5-5, part of a game-winning, five-run rally.

7/3 PHI @ PIT
In the top of the fourth, Jayson Werth hit a fly ball the struck near the top of the CF wall in the triangle area. The ball was ruled in play but the Phillies asked about the call, so acting crew chief Brian O'Nora watched the replay and upheld the call.

7/5 CLE @ TEX
In the bottom of the seventh inning, Nelson Cruz hit a fly down the RF line that skimmed the pole and was ruled a home run. The Indians asked about the call so crew chief Tim Tschida watched the replay and overturned the call to a foul ball.

7/7 KCA @ SEA
In the top of the ninth, the fly by Billy Butler flew over the extended reach of Ichiro Suzuki, hit something between the barrier wall and the concrete wall and rebounded back onto the field. It was ruled in play, perhaps because the flight of the ball was blocked by Ichiro's glove. Crew chief Brian Gorman watched the replay and overturned the call to a homer.

7/10 SFN @ WAS
Buster Posey's fly in the ninth inning was caught over the RF scoreboard by a fan wearing a Giants cap. It was ruled a homer but the Nationals asked if the ball cleared the wall. Crew chief Derryl Cousins watched the replay and upheld the call.

7/11 CIN @ PHI
In the bottom of the third, a fan reached over the fence at the 387 marker in left-center attempting to catch the ball hit by Carlos Ruiz. It caromed back onto the field and was called fan interference by 2B umpire Laz Diaz and ruled a double. Crew chief John Hirschbeck watched the replay and upheld the call.

7/11 CIN @ PHI
In the bottom of the fourth (one inning after the previous replay), a fan reached over the top of the wall with a glove to catch a drive hit by Jason Werth in the triangle area near the 409 marker. It was ruled fan interference and a double, and crew chief John Hirschbeck watched the replay and upheld the call.

7/16 COL @ CIN
Miguel Olivo led off the top of the eighth inning by hitting the first pitch to left for an apparent home run. A fan caught the ball in the first row but the Reds thought the fan reached over the wall. Crew chief Tom Hallion watched the replay and upheld the homer call.

7/19 CLE @ MIN
In the bottom of the fourth, Indians left fielder Trevor Crowe jumped at the wall attempting to catch Delmon Young's fly ball. It hit his glove and bounced off the wall then came back down where Crowe caught it and immediately threw to the infield. The play was ruled no catch. The Twins asked if it was over the wall, so the umpires huddled and crew chief Dana DeMuth watched the replay and upheld the call.

7/22 WAS @ CIN
In the top of the third, Willie Harris' fly hit the yellow padding on the top of the RF wall at the bullpen and caromed back onto the field. Harris stopped at 2B but saw Reds RF Jay Bruce chasing the ball in foul territory, so Harris ran to 3B. The Nationals thought the ball was over the fence so crew chief Gary Cederstrom watched the replay and upheld the call.

7/24 TBA @ CLE
In the top of the fifth inning, a fly ball by Ben Zobrist hit the railing above the yellow stripe in left center and bounded back onto the field. It was ruled in play but initially neither Indians outfielder chased after the ball, since it had hit over the fence for a home run. Rays manager Joe Maddon asked about the ruling so acting crew chief Mike Everitt watched the replay and overturned the call to a home run.

7/26 FLO @ SFN
In the bottom of the seventh, Aaron Rowand’s fly ball just cleared the fence and was caught by a fan. Marlins left fielder Emilio Bonifacio claimed that the fan interfered with his ability to catch the ball. Crew chief Tom Hallion watched the replay and upheld the call.

7/26 BOS @ ANA
In the bottom of the eighth inning, Hideki Matsui’s fly ball was touched by a fan and ruled a homer. The ball caromed back onto the field. The Red Sox asked about the call, so acting chief Wally Bell watched the replay and upheld the call.

7/30 SEA @ MIN
In the bottom of the fifth, Alexi Casilla’s fly ball hit the top of the wall and caromed off the metal railing behind the flower bed. The ball bounced back onto the field and was ruled in play. Casilla stopped at third. The Twins asked about the call so crew chief Tom Hallion watched the replay and overturned the call to a home run.

8/1 SEA @ MIN
In the top of the second, Josh Wilson golfed the ball down the left field line just foul. The Mariners asked about the call, so crew chief Tom Hallion watched the replay and upheld the call. This was the second replay in the series.

8/5 PHI @ FLO
In the top of the tenth inning, Ben Francisco hit the fifth pitch he saw down the left field line. The ball curved foul by about eight feet and was called foul. Phillies manager Charlie Manuel asked about the ruling so crew chief Tim Tschida watched the replay and upheld the call.

8/6 MIN @ CLE
In the top of the ninth inning, pinch hitter Jim Thome's fly hit the yellow stripe at the top of the left center field wall and caromed back onto the field. The Twins thought it was a home run. Crew chief Gerry Davis watched the replay and upheld the call after the crew huddled and Thome ended up with a double. Twins manager Ron Gardenhire came on the field after the review and argued violently the about the ruling. Gardenhire was ejected by Davis.

8/6 COL @ PIT
In the ninth inning, Dexter Fowler's fly hit between the padding and the wall in center field, briefly disappearing and then caroming back onto the field. 2B umpire Eric Cooper ruled a home run but Pirates manager John Russell asked about the call. Crew chief Mike Reilly watched the replay and overturned the call to a ball in play. He awarded Fowler third base for a triple.

8/7 COL @ PIT
For the second consecutive game, there was a usage of replay in Pittsburgh. In the bottom of the tenth inning, Andrew McCutchen's fly was touched by a fan in right center over the wall. The ball grazed his glove and hit the top of the padding then caromed back to the field. It was ruled a home run by 2B umpire and crew chief Mike Reilly but the Rockies asked about the call, so Reilly looked at the replay and overturned the call to fan interference and a double for McCutchen.

8/12 FLO @ WAS
In the top of the second inning, Mike Stanton's fly ball hit on the top of the out-of-town scoreboard in right center and was ruled in play. Stanton made it to third for an apparent RBI triple. The Marlins asked about the ruling so, after the umpires huddled, crew chief Jerry Layne watched the replay and overturned the call to a home run.

8/13 PHI @ NYN
In the bottom of the fifth inning, Mike Hessman's fly to left hit near the top of the wall after a fan tried to catch the ball. The play was ruled a homer but the Phillies claimed that the fan interfered with the ball. Crew chief Tom Hallion watched the replay and overturned the call to a ball in play with no fan interference and awarded Hessman third base.

8/16 TEX @ TBA
In the top of the seventh, Benjie Molina hit a ball that hit off the top of the wall and caromed back to the field. Rays left fielder Carl Crawford climbed the wall attempting to catch the ball but was about 8-10 feet away. The ball was ruled in play; crew chief Dale Scott watched the replay and upheld the call.

8/23 MIN @ TEX
In the top of the first inning, Twins center fielder Denard Span jumped for the ball hit by David Murphy to the centerfield wall but did not touch the ball. It hit the top of the padding and rebounded back onto the field and was ruled in play. The umpires huddled and then crew chief Derryl Cousins watched the replay and upheld the call.

8/25 ARI @ SDN
The first batter of the game, Stephen Drew, hit a line drive that hit in the seats in the right field corner and caromed back onto the field. It was ruled in play but crew chief Brian Gorman watched the replay and overturned the call to a home run.

8/29 FLO @ ATL
In the bottom of the ninth with two out and the score tied at six, Braves catcher Brian McCann hit a fly ball to right that hit over the top of the barrier wall, caromed off the back wall and landed on the field. It was ruled in play but the Braves had started on the field to celebrate the victory. The umpires huddled and crew chief Tim McClelland watched the replay and overturned the call to a home run. It was the first game-ending homer reviewed.

9/2 DET @ MIN
In the top of the second, Austin Jackson's fly hit the top of the wall in left center and caromed back onto the field. Left fielder Delmon Young played it as if it were a home run and there was no play at third on Jackson. Tigers manager Jim Leyland asked about the ruling so crew chief Joe West watched the replay and upheld the call.

9/4 COL @ SDN
In the bottom of the first, Adrian Gonzalez' fly hit near the top of the padded wall in the RF corner where the wall juts out. The ball was ruled in play but the Padres asked about the ruling. Crew chief Gary Darling watched the replay and upheld the call.

9/4 TBA @ BAL
In the bottom of the fifth inning, Luke Scott's fly hit near the top of the padded wall in right center off an orange advertisement. It was ruled in play but the Orioles thought it was a home run. Crew chief Tim Welke watched the replay and upheld his own call.

9/6 CHA @ DET
In the bottom of the eighth inning, Brandon Inge's fly down the LF line on a 3-2 pitch was originally ruled a two-run homer, but the umpires huddled briefly before crew chief Brian Gorman watched the replay and overturned the call to a foul ball. The blast would have put the Tigers ahead in the tie game. The White Sox won in 10 innings. It was the second time in 2010 that Inge had a ball ruled a homer and then overturned to a foul ball against the White Sox.

9/7 CLE @ ANA
In the top of the sixth, Travis Hafner's fly hit the top of the wall in right center, bounced off a railing and caromed back onto the field. It was ruled a home run but the Angels asked about the ruling. Crew chief Joe West watched the replay and upheld the call.

9/7 TEX @ TOR
In the bottom of the second inning, John Buck's fly hit on a railing behind the right field fence in the visitor's bullpen. The ball caromed back onto the field and was ruled in play. The Blue Jays asked about the call so crew chief Tom Hallion watched the replay and overturned the call to a home run.

9/14 DET @ TEX
In the bottom of the fourth, David Murphy's high fly down the RF line was ruled a fair ball by 1B umpire Jerry Layne. The Tigers complained about the call, so Layne, the crew chief, watched the replay and upheld the call.

9/15 DET @ TEX
In the top of the first, Ryan Raburn's fly hit the top of the wall and bounced back onto the field. The Tigers asked about the call so crew chief Jerry Layne watched the replay and upheld the call that it was a double.

9/20 KCA @ DET
In the bottom of the sixth, the fly by Will Rhymes hit on the top of the wall and caromed off the metal fence back onto the field. It was ruled in play and he reached third. The Tigers asked about the call, so crew chief Dale Scott watched the replay and overturned the call to a home run. It was Rhymes' first career homer. When he returned to the dugout after running from third to home, his teammates gave him the silent treatment.

9/28 OAK @ ANA
In the bottom of the fourth, Peter Bourjos hit the 2-2 pitch down the LF line, The ball was ruled fair and a home run. The Athletics argued the call, so crew chief Dana DeMuth watched the replay and overturned the call to a foul ball.

10/2 MIL @ CIN
In the bottom of the fifth, Jay Bruce's fly ball was touched and almost caught by a fan in CF. The ball was over the wall but it looked as if Brewers CF Lorenzo Cain would have caught the ball if the fan had not touched it. However, since it was over the wall, it was ruled a home run. The ball ended up on the field. The Brewers argued for fan interference, so crew chief Tim Welke watched the replay and upheld the call. It was Bruce’s second four-bagger of the contest.

10/3 PIT @ FLO
In the bottom of the sixth, Wes Helms' fly hit the edge of the wall in LF at the point that it extends up and caromed back onto the field past Pirates LF Jose Tabata and into foul territory. The play was ruled a home run but when the Pirates objected crew chief Joe West watched the replay and overturned the call to a ball in play. Helms and both runners were awarded two bases each. Marlins manager Edwin Rodriguez objected to the placement of the runners and argued with West until he was ejected by West. Neither team is allowed to argue a ruling based on a replay. This is the first time that someone had been ejected because of that.

10/10 PHI @ CIN (League Division Series)
In the top of the fifth, Chase Utley hit fly to right center. Reds CF Drew Stubbs leaped and reached over the wall in an attempt to catch the ball. Numerous fans also tried to catch the ball and Stubbs had no chance because of the fans. The Reds asked about the play so crew chief John Hirschbeck watched the replay and upheld the call of no fan interference since the ball was clearly over the wall when it was touched. This was the second use of replay in postseason.

10/19 TEX @ NYA (League Championship Series)
In the bottom of the second inning, Lance Berkman hit the first pitch to him down the RF line. It was ruled a home run by RF umpire Jim Reynolds. 1B umpire Fieldin Culbreth huddled with Reynolds and Rangers manager Ron Washington came out to discuss the call. Crew chief Gerry Davis watched the replay and overturned the call to a foul ball. This was the third use of replay in postseason.


Page Updated: 10/30/2011
All data contained at this site is copyright © 1996-2011